About Me

My photo

Nice guy.  Have some blogs.  Do baseball research.

Sunday, April 10, 2016

Two 15 team conferences, no divisions.

- all teams play the same schedule
- traditional rivals are competitors.

- more travel
- more games between teams based in different time zones
- fewer games against traditional rivals.

Geography is opposed. As much as there have been population shifts, most teams are in the east and mid west. However, it's far from impractical.

Expand, re-align, isolate divisions. Saturday, April 9, 2016

... move teams into natural groups based on geography and rivalry.

Same state teams go together. That covers:
- California: Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Diego, Oakland, Angels
- New York: Yankees, Mets
- Illinois: White Sox, Cubs
- Pennsylvania: Pittsburgh, Philadelphia
- Ohio: Cleveland, Cincinnati
- Texas: Rangers, Houston
- Florida: Miami, Tampa
- Missouri: St. Louis, Kansas City

Start with states:
East: NY, IL, PA, FL - 8 teams
West: CA, TX, MO, OH - 11 teams

West needs only four more teams: Seattle, Colorado, Arizona, Minnesota.

Yeah, I know, Ohio (Cleveland and Cincinnati) and Minnesota are mid west but some concessions had to be made.

The remaining seven teams go to the East: Boston, Baltimore, Washington, Atlanta, Detroit, Toronto, Milwaukee.

Each team has 14 opponents in conference. If they play 11 games, that's 154 games, more than enough. Eleven is not ideal but it's certainly doable. Plus, if a new team is added to each conference, that's 15 opponents: 10 games each equals 150 games.

No games against the other conference until the tournament finals, which might then have the phrase World Series become appropriate again.

No comments: