About Me

My photo

Nice guy.  Have some blogs.  Do baseball research.

Friday, September 23, 2016

Most recent MVP or CY per team, also in Hall of Fame.

Recently a friend sent me an email message asking: name the most recent Yankee who won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award for the Yankees or the Cy Young (CY) award for the Yankees and was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player.

I got the answer pretty quickly: Mickey Mantle, who was American League (AL) MVP in 1956, 1957, 1962. But it was thought provoking and made me think that the Yankees should have had somebody more recently. Mantle's most recent MVP was 54 years ago. That seems like ancient history.

I started wondering about other teams and used data extracted from the Lahman database to do the research.

Click this link to find the details for all thirty teams using their current names. So, Lefty Grove is listed under Oakland Athletics for being the first AL MVP in 1931; Grove played for the Philadelphia Athletics.

The modern MVP award started in 1931 and pitchers won often. That prompted the creation of the Cy Young award in 1956 for the best pitcher. From 1956-1966 there was only one CY awarded each year. Starting in 1967, CY was awarded in each league, American and National.

The data is in these tabs:
- Most recent: MVP, CY Hall of Famer, if any; also below.
- MVP by team
- MVP by team totals
- CY by team
- CY by team totals
- Hall of Fame MVP
- Hall of Fame CY
- Hall of Fame

The Detroit Tigers have the longest gap between 2016 and the most recent MVP season of a Tiger: 71 years for pitcher Hal Newhouser, who was AL MVP in 1944 and 1945, the final two years of World War II.

Early Wynn won CY in 1959 for the Chicago White Sox and has the longest CY gap: 57 years.

Pitchers who won MVP and CY and are most recent for both:
Sandy Koufax: Dodgers MVP 1963, CY 1966
Bob Gibson: Cardinals 1968 both
Dennis Eckersley: Athletics 1992 both

Pitchers who were most recent CY for two teams:
Gaylord Perry: Indians 1972, Padres 1978
Randy Johnson: Mariners 1995, Diamondbacks 2002
Pedro Martinez: Nationals (Expos) 1997, Red Sox 2000

Some teams had no Hall of Fame player or none who won MVP or CY: Colorado Rockies, Houston Astros, Miami Marlins, Tampa Rays, Texas Rangers, Toronto Blue Jays.

Teams with the most players and awards:
Yankees: 12 players, 20 awards
Cardinals: 13 players, 17 awards
Dodgers: 8 players, 12 awards

Most recent:
Arizona Diamondbacks
Atlanta BravesHankAaron19571957159
Baltimore OriolesCalRipken19831991225
Boston Red SoxJimRice19781978138
Chicago CubsAndreDawson19871987129
Chicago White SoxFrankThomas19931994222
Cincinnati RedsBarryLarkin19951995121
Cleveland IndiansLouBoudreau19481948168
Colorado Rockies
Detroit TigersHalNewhouser19441945271
Houston Astros
Kansas City RoyalsGeorgeBrett19801980136
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
Los Angeles DodgersSandyKoufax19631963153
Milwaukee BrewersRobinYount19821989227
Minnesota TwinsRodCarew19771977139
New York Mets
New York YankeesMickeyMantle19561962354
Miami Marlins
Oakland AthleticsDennisEckersley19921992124
Philadelphia PhilliesMikeSchmidt19801986330
Pittsburgh PiratesWillieStargell19791979137
San Diego Padres
San Francisco GiantsWillieMcCovey19691969147
Seattle MarinersKenGriffey19971997119
St. Louis CardinalsBobGibson19681968148

RandyJohnson19992002414Arizona Diamondbacks
TomGlavine19911998218Atlanta Braves
JimPalmer19731976340Baltimore Orioles
PedroMartinez19992000216Boston Red Sox
GregMaddux19921992124Chicago Cubs
EarlyWynn19591959157Chicago White Sox
Cincinnati Reds
GaylordPerry19721972144Cleveland Indians
Colorado Rockies
Detroit Tigers
Houston Astros
Kansas City Royals
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
SandyKoufax19631966350Los Angeles Dodgers
RollieFingers19811981135Milwaukee Brewers
Minnesota Twins
TomSeaver19691975341New York Mets
WhiteyFord19611961155New York Yankees
Miami Marlins
DennisEckersley19921992124Oakland Athletics
SteveCarlton19721982434Philadelphia Phillies
Pittsburgh Pirates
GaylordPerry19781978138San Diego Padres
San Francisco Giants
RandyJohnson19951995121Seattle Mariners
BobGibson19681968148St. Louis Cardinals
Tampa Rays
Texas Rangers
Toronto Blue Jays
PedroMartinez19971997119Washington Nationals

No comments: