About Me

My photo

Nice guy.  Have some blogs.  Do baseball research.

Saturday, January 9, 2016

Pete Rose: how he can get into the Hall of Fame.

Dec. 14, 2015 commissioner Manfred, the A-Rod Slayer, denied the appeal by Pete Rose to be removed from the "permanently ineligible" list, which makes sense since the list is permanent.  It was the third appeal by Rose.

Soon after Rose was originally added to the "permanently ineligible" list, the Board of Directors of the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY created a rule in 1991 that made anyone on the "permanently ineligible" list also ineligible for the Hall of Fame.  This seemed to have been done specifically to remove Rose from consideration.


Major League Rule 21

(d) BETTING ON BALL GAMES. Any player, umpire, or club official or employee, who shall bet any sum whatsoever upon any baseball game inconnection with which the bettor has no duty to perform shall be declared ineligible for one year.

Any player, umpire, or club or league official or employee, who shall bet any sum whatsoever upon any baseball game in connection with which the bettor has a duty to perform shall be declared permanently ineligible.


In recent years, voters have received a paper list of all players who were eligible, negating the option for them to write in a name.

So, obviously, two things would have to happen for Rose to be elected to the Hall:

1. The Board of Directors of the Hall of Fame would have to rescind its "permanently ineligible" list rule, making Rose and others eligible.

2. Rose would have to then be considered and approved by a veterans committee.

Let's look at who would make those two decisions.

Board of Directors

Bud Selig: longest serving member of the Hall of Fame Board of Directors. Monday, January 13, 2014

Allan Huber "Bud" Selig has been a director since 1976.  1976!  Selig has also been commissioner of the Major Baseball League since 1992.

Here is the lineup in alphabetical order:

Board of Directors of The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum

Jane Forbes Clark: Chairman since 2000, director since 1992.
    - President of The Clark Foundation
    - Chairman of The Farmers’ Museum
    - President of The Scriven Foundation

Joe L. Morgan: Vice Chairman since 2000, director since 1994.  Hall of Fame 1990; Executive and Nominating committees...

I count 16 board members, including at least two, probably three, Clarkies.

Owners and/or executives of:
St. Louis Cardinals
Kansas City Royals
Chicago White Sox

Players made directors after induction:
Joe Morgan
Phil Niekro
Brooks Robinson
Frank Robinson
Tom Seaver

A Veterans Committee

Hall of Fame: how many bites of the apple are too many? Tuesday, December 9, 2014

As with voting by the 500 or so baseball writers for regular election, this committee needed to have 75% of its 16 members vote for someone to be elected.  That would be 12 of the 16 votes.  Dick Allen and Tony Oliva received 11 and Jim Kaat 10...

All of the former players had been considered and rejected in years five through twenty after their retirements.  Then they were considered by the regular veterans committee multiple times.  And finally, this Golden Era Committee, stacked with contemporaries, also rejected them.  Isn't that enough bites of the apple?


 Votes Percentage

Dick Allen 11 68.8%
Tony Oliva 11 68.8%
Jim Kaat 10 62.5%
Maury Wills 9 56.3%
Minnie Minoso 8 50%
Ken Boyer 3 or fewer
Gil Hodges 3 or fewer
Bob Howsam 3 or fewer
Billy Pierce 3 or fewer 
Luis Tiant 3 or fewer

The Golden Era Committee considered the ballot of candidates whose contributions to the game were most significant from 1947-72...

The 16-member Golden Era Committee commissioned with the review of the 10-name ballot met Sunday and Monday in San Diego, Calif., and was comprised of Hall of Fame members Jim BunningRod CarewPat Gillick, Ferguson Jenkins, Al KalineJoe MorganOzzie Smith and Don Sutton; major league executives Dave Dombrowski, Jim Frey, David Glass and Roland Hemond; and veteran media members Steve Hirdt, Dick Kaegel, Phil Pepe and Tracy Ringolsby. Hall of Fame Chairman of the Board Jane Forbes Clark served as the non-voting chairman of the Golden Era Committee...

The Golden Era Committee will next consider candidates in 2017 for the 2018 Induction year, as the process to consider candidates by era repeats on a three-year cycle.

Board: 5 of 16 were players.
Committee: 7 of 12 were players.

And lest we forget:

Hall of Fame criteria: 66% about character, which is all but ignored.


5. Voting: Voting shall be based upon
- the player's record
- playing ability
- integrity
- sportsmanship
- character
- contributions to the team(s) on which the player played.

Rose has a former teammate in both groups: Joe Morgan, who played second base for the Cincinnati Reds.  Would Hall of Fame Board of Directors Vice Chairman Joe Morgan support the elimination of the Hall's rule that bans Rose from consideration?  If so, would Morgan also vote for Rose if he, Morgan, were on the veterans committee that considered Rose?  What about the other former players who are Board members, especially Frank Robinson?  The day before the 2015 All Star game in Cincinnati, Rose's home town and where he played most of his career, Robinson was directly asked about Rose being allowed to appear in pre-game ceremonies honoring the "franchise four" Reds: Rose, Morgan, Johnny Bench and Barry Larkin.  Robinson icily replied that he was not part of that decision.  And when Rose was introduced before the All Star game Bench all but turned his back on Rose, finally engaging in a mild embrace that Rose initiated.  Morgan was more warm.  All three played together for years.

So what are the chances that both of these groups would make Pete Rose a member of their Hall of Fame?  I'd say it will happen when pigs fly.  But Pete might take the long odds and place a bet.

As P.T. Barnum said: "There's a sucker born every minute."

Pete Rose, Hit King, is also the Out King. Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Pete Rose: Out King and out forever. Wednesday, December 16, 2015

No comments: